You are currently viewing historical information.
-> Return to current season <-

While we strive to provide accurate historical information, there may be some inaccuracies. If you find errors, please email them to Please include a source of proof (newspaper, yearbook, etc.) to support your claim.

Event Calendar
July 2024
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa

Mon, Jul 22, 2024
Game Day Info

No Event(s) Scheduled For Selected Date

View Full Schedule & Results

Women's Basketball Names Team Award Winners

Related Story Info

Story Options
  Print Story
  Download PDF

Bookmark and Share

By: Kevin Meinholz, Sports Information Director
Posted: Monday, April 4, 2011 at 12:30 PM

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - UW-Eau Claire women's basketball head coach Tonja Englund recently announced the team award winners for the 2010-11 season.

Winning MVP honors for the second year in a row was Hannah Mesick (Sr.-Chatfield, Minn.). She led both the Blugolds and the WIAC in scoring, averaging 17.1 points per game. Mesick also started all 26 of Eau Claire’s games and averaged a team-high 8.4 rebounds each outing. She finished fourth on the Blugolds’ all-time scoring list with 1,443 points in her career. This season Mesick also earned All-Central Region honors, while being named to the All-WIAC first team for the second consecutive year.

Nicole Christianson (Jr.-Chetek, Wis.) was named Rookie of the Year. Christianson finished second on the team with 9.8 points per game as she started all 26 contests. She led the Blugolds with 105 assists and 48 steals while being third with 18 blocks. Christianson led the Blugolds in scoring in six games and had one double-double.

Named Defensive Player of the Year was Ellen Plendl (Jr.-Chippewa Falls, Wis./McDonell). She finished leading the Blugolds with 81 blocks, which was also second in the WIAC, and a school record for most in a season. Plendl was second on the team with 6.6 rebounds per game and had 13 steals. She was fourth on the team with 7.5 points per game, leading the Blugolds twice in scoring and seven times in rebounding.

Lindsey Wanish (Fr.-Catawba, Wis./Phillips) earned the Most Improved award. She played in 15 games this year and averaged 4.6 minutes per game. Wanish scored 10 points this season.

The Blugold Award winner was Callie Halama (Jr.-Independence, Wis.), who played in all 26 games and scored 76 points on the season. She had 43 rebounds, 13 steals and 11 assists.

Laura Olson (Jr.-Osseo, Wis./Osseo-Fairchild), who shared the Captains Award with Mesick and Halama, started 21 games while playing in 24 total contests. She scored 166 points this season, 6.9 per game, and led the Blugolds with 42 three-pointers. Olson was third on the team with 29 steals while she had 25 assists.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Athletics • McPhee 208 • Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004

Phone: (715) 836-3062
Questions/Comments: UW-Eau Claire Sports Information