You are currently viewing historical information.
-> Return to current season <-

While we strive to provide accurate historical information, there may be some inaccuracies. If you find errors, please email them to Please include a source of proof (newspaper, yearbook, etc.) to support your claim.

Event Calendar
September 2023
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa

Fri, Sep 22, 2023
Game Day Info

No Event(s) Scheduled For Selected Date

View Full Schedule & Results

Men's Basketball Distributes Team Awards

Related Story Info

Story Options
  Print Story
  Download PDF

Bookmark and Share

By: Ashley Hofer, Sports Information Student
Posted: Wednesday, March 2, 2011 at 11:12 AM

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - The UW-Eau Claire men's basketball team honored its players for their seasonal achievements as head coach Terry Gibbons recently announced winners of the annual team awards.

Marcus Ruh (So.-Green Bay, Wis./Bay Port) and Amadou Fofana (Sr.-Appleton, Wis./West) were named co-MVPs of the team this season. Ruh started in 24 games and was the Blugolds’ top scorer with an average of 13.3 points per game. Ruh also earned three awards for leading statistical categories: the assist award (69 assists), the free throw award (77 percent) and the steals award (38 takeaways).

Fofana was second for Eau Claire in scoring, averaging 12.2 points each outing and staring all 25 games for the Blugolds. Fofana was also recognized for his high shooting percentage, nailing 60 percent (121-for-201) of his shots from the field.

Ruh, Fofana and Ivan Franklin (Sr.-Stillwater, Minn./Stillwater/UM-Duluth) also earned the captains’ award for their leadership during the 2010-11 season. Franklin started 20 of 24 games and averaged 8.7 points each outing.

Newcomers Paul Franklin (Fr.-Stillwater, Minn.) and Kevin Rabbers (Fr.-Grand Rapids, Minn.) received the freshman award for their first-season efforts. Franklin played in 19 games – starting one – and contributed 10 steals. Rabbers appeared in 19 games as well and made four blocks.

John Mielke (So.-Appleton, Wis./East) and Dustin Kalien (So.-Chippewa Falls, Wis./Chi-Hi) were recognized with the most improved award. Mielke jumped from playing just eight games last season to starting 17 of 24 this year. He also went from playing just 3.8 minutes each game to averaging over 20 minutes per outing. Kalien also saw an increase in game time, as his minutes played each game more than tripled from last season. Mielke and Kalien were also both honored with the three-point field goal award for their 40 percent three-point shooting averages.

James Pfitzinger (Jr.-West St. Paul, Minn./Academy Of Holy Angels/St. Norbert) earned the fireman’s award. Pfitzinger led the team with an average of 1.5 blocked shots each game and averaged 4.4 rebounds each outing, third best for the Blugolds. He also appeared in 22 games, starting three.

This year’s inspiration award was given to Zac Womeldorf (So.-Northfield, Minn.) and Matt Coenen (Jr.-Appleton, Wis./East/St. Norbert). Womeldorf played in 9 games and played over five minutes each outing. Coenen appeared in 19 games, played 11.8 minutes each contest and averaged 2.3 points per game.

Other statistical awards were presented Nick Craggs (So.-Kimberly, Wis./Kimberly/UW-Whitewater) and Jordan Petersen (So.-Strum, Wis./Eleva-Strum). Petersen earned the team’s defense award. He appeared and started in eight games, collecting 11 steals and averaging 3.6 rebounds. Craggs earned the rebound award for his team-high 5.4 average.

Manager Travis Olson was presented with the team service award for his help over the years while Bill Arnsdorf was given a distinction award. Arnsdorf served as the Blugolds’ official scorekeeper for 47 years (1964-2011) but retired from the position at the end of the season.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Athletics • McPhee 208 • Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004

Phone: (715) 836-3062
Questions/Comments: UW-Eau Claire Sports Information