You are currently viewing historical information.
-> Return to current season <-

While we strive to provide accurate historical information, there may be some inaccuracies. If you find errors, please email them to Please include a source of proof (newspaper, yearbook, etc.) to support your claim.

Event Calendar
June 2024
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa

Sun, Jun 16, 2024
Game Day Info

No Event(s) Scheduled For Selected Date

View Full Schedule & Results

Two Men's Hockey Players Named to All-WIAC First Team

Story Options
  Print Story
  Download PDF

Bookmark and Share

By: Ashley Hofer, Sports Information Student
Posted: Friday, February 25, 2011 at 12:00 PM

MADISON, Wis. ( - A pair of UW-Eau Claire men's hockey team players has received First Team All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference honors, the WIAC announced today. The Blugolds were honored with several more awards, including three players on the All-Conference honorable mention list, WIAC Coach of the Year and one Scholar-Athlete.

Tyler Jundt (Jr.-Williston, N.D.) and Jordan Singer (So.-Lino Lakes, Minn./Centennial) both made the All-Conference first team for their efforts this season. As a defenseman, Jundt scored three goals – all power plays – and also tallied five assists. He played in 20 games and helped the Blugold defense limit opponent scoring chances, as the Blugolds maintained both higher shots and goals per game averages than their opponents.

Singer led the Blugold offense with 13 goals and 16 assists. With 29 points, his total was the second-highest of all WIAC players. Singer also played in all 27 games and led the team with seven power play goals.

Coach Matt Loen earned WIAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. Loen, who has a 47-55-7 record as Blugold head coach, was also named this season’s coach of the year in the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association.

Ross Janecyk (Sr.-Grand Rapids, Mich./Catholic Central)Kurt Weston (So.-Roseau, Minn.) and Bryce Wilcox (So.-Rochester, Minn./Century) also earned spots on the All-Conference Honorable Mention roster. Weston and Janecyk tallied the second and fourth-most goals for the Blugolds, respectively. This is Wilcox’s second consecutive year receiving honorable mention status.

Eric OHearn (So.-Traverse City, Mich./Central) was named to the five-player All-Sportsmanship team. Players earn this honor for demonstrating commendable sportsmanship over the course of the season. John Kearns (Sr.-Park Ridge, Ill./Maine South) also earned the Max Sparger Co-Scholar-Athlete award for his academic performance.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Athletics • McPhee 208 • Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004

Phone: (715) 836-3062
Questions/Comments: UW-Eau Claire Sports Information